Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Cork 20 Rally
Patterson Pacenotes
Cork 20 International Rally
RALLY NEWS No.3 - Millstreet - Saturday @ 13:53:38

RALLY NEWS NO.3 Millstreet Service/Saturday

1st (3) Declan & Brian Boyle (Impreza WRC) 33.11.0
2nd (1) Daragh O`Riordan/Tony McDaid (Fiesta WRC) 33.51.5
3rd (2) Garry Jennings/Rory Kennedy (Impreza WRC) 33.54.7
4th (4) Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Focus WRC) 34.08.4
5th (5) Kevin Kelleher/Ger Conway (Impreza WRC) 34.35.0
6th (10) Colm Murphy/Don Montgomery (Impreza N) 34.44.5
7th Owen Murphy 8th Seb Ling 9th Stephen Wright 10th Sam Moffett
1st (11) Roy White/Liam Brennan (MG S2000) 34.43.0
2nd (17) Phil Collins/Adrian Deasy (Escort) 35.59.9
3rd (16) Wesley Patterson/Sean Hayde (Escort) 36.22.5
4th Jim McKenna 5th Leonard Downey

On the 2nd running of the Knockakilla stage Declan Boyle again turned in a superb time, 20s up on his closest pursuer Daragh O`Riordan. Second fastest was actually Kevin Kelleher in his Subaru. Kevin did not go well over the first loop and stages and reckoned it was because he was using tyres that he had last employed on the Lurgan Park Rally and they were just not working this morning. Fresh rubber has obviously transformed his performance. Fastest Group N through stage 4 was Sam Moffett from Colm Murphy and Josh Moffett was only 0.6 of a second down on Colm.

Some of the incidents on the earlier stages today included Emmet Cronin crashed the bright orange Escort on stage 1, driver and co driver reported to be OK. Fergus O`Meara`s retirement happened at a downhill square left when Fergus cut in over the grass and damaged a steering arm too badly to continue. Fergus and Frank Kelly were tied in the Modified section of the Tarmac C/ship starring the rally and both have retired so this leaves Noel O`Sullivan as favourite to take the title. Damien McCarthy was running well down the field following a puncture on his Civic on stage 1. Jason Ryan lost a few seconds getting past the struggling Civic but otherwise OK. Gerard Lucey was reportedly off the road in stage 1. John Murphy & Grace O`Brien came back into service after stage 1 as their Subaru clutch was slipping. Jason McSweeney & William Lynch were due to start at No.36 but their Lancer suffered overheating problems. Ed O`Callaghan was a non starter as was Kevin Barrett. Car 55 Colin & Liam Moynihan non started because Liam is committed to the Millstreet GAA team and they have to play in a final tomorrow.

In the Historic section of the rally Mark Falvey/Peter Scott in an ex Billy Coleman Mk1 Escort have a 12s lead over Denis Moynihan/Shane Buckley in a similar Mk1 after 3 stages. James O`Mahony/Kerrie Barry in the big Volvo 144S were 3rd o/a and leading class B5. Aidan O`Connor/Ian Regan were 4th o/a and leading class C3 in their Mk1 Escort.

Reminder: In the big main hall here at the Green Glens complex/service area there is a demonstration autotest this afternoon which promises good action and then at tea time the top 6 drivers in the rally are going to have a F1 type race in karts.

More news later: BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter @ Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd