Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
COI 2014 logo
The Tannery
Patterson Pacenotes
Circuit of Ireland
RALLY NEWS No.11 - After SS18 - Saturday @ 17:40:50

RALLY NEWS NO.11 Titanic Quarter Belfast Saturday

1st (2) Esapekka Lappi/Janne Ferm (Fabia S2000)
2nd (4) Sepp Wiegand/Frank Christian (Fabia S2000)
3rd (5) Robert Barrable/Stuart Loudon (Fiesta R5)
4th (9) Robert Consani/Maxime Vilmot (Peugeot 207 S2000)
5th (8) Neil Simpson/Claire Mole (Fabia S200)
6th (25) Daniel McKenna/Arthur Kierans (Citroen DS3)
7th (7) Josh Moffett/John Rowan (Lancer)
8th (14) Jan Cerny/Pavel Kohout (Peugeot 208R2)
1st (102) Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle (Impreza WRC)
2nd (103) Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Focus WRC)
3rd (105) Derek McGarrity/James McKee (Mini WRC)
4th (106) Kenny McKinstry/Noel Orr (Impreza WRC)
5th (107) Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore (Starlet RWD)
6th (121) Declan McNaughton/Sean Hayde (Escort)
7th Alistair Cochrane 8th Keith White 9th Frank Kelly 10th Enda McNulty

It has been a brilliant Circuit of Ireland, particularly so for the Skoda team who finish with a perfect 1-2 finish. For winner, 23 year old Esapekka Lappi from Finland and his co-driver Janne Ferm this win promotes them into the lead of the European Rally Championship. When Esapekka finished the final stage, Gregorlough, between Dromore and Lurgan, he commented that he was proud of his performance over the weekend. And rightly so as he led from start to finish. Sepp Wiegand put on quite a push this afternoon to overhaul Robert Barrable in his Fiesta. Robert was holding 2nd place by just a few seconds starting this afternoon`s leg but he dropped time on the long Bronte stage that allowed the Skoda driver to nip through. Still, for Dubliner Robert to bring his Fiesta into 3rd o/a is quite a performance. French driver Robert Consani in his Peugeot 207 S2000 drove excellently all weekend to take 4th and a healthy haul of European points. Daniel McKenna, with Arthur Kierans co-driving, did a superb job in the Pirelli backed Citroen DS3 R3T to take 6th o/a and win the RC3 category. Josh Moffett in 7th was the highest placed Production car in his Lancer and Jan Cerny in 8th in his Peugeot has won the European Junior category.

There was major drama in the National Rally on the final stage as Garry Jennings/Rory Kennedy crashed their Subaru off the road on a fast right hander almost at stage finish. Garry seemed to have an unassailable lead with a few stages to go but a problem at the end of SS17 cost him time and he started the final stage just 3s in hand over Declan Boyle. This means Declan Boyle and his co driver Brian Boyle win the rally and increase their lead in the Clonakilty Black Pudding Tarmac Championship. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Focus WRC) finished 2nd o/a with Derek McGarrity/James McKee coming into 3rd in their Mini WRC. This result will increase Derek`s lead in the McGrady Insurance NI C/ship. Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore were a brilliant 5th in their Starlet and take top Modified Tarmac C/ship points.

Finally for now our thanks to all who supported and helped with our RallyNews service. Well done to all the hardworking Circuit of Ireland team fronted of course by Bobby Willis, for orchestrating such a marvellous event. Footnote: We are behind you Stanley…….
BRIAN & LIZ PTTERSON www.rallynews.net (with thanks to Michael & Zoe Patterson) *Follow RallyNews on Twitter @Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2018 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd