Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Mayo Stages Rally
RALLY NEWS No.4 - After stage 4 - Sunday @ 13:38:22

RALLY NEWS NO.4 Service/Sunday 1.30

1st (2) Melvyn Evans/Patrick Walsh (Impreza WRC) 35.35
2nd (4) Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally (Impreza WRC) 35.49
3rd (1) Aaron MacHale/Diarmuid Falvey (Focus WRC) 36.00
4th (6) Craig Breen/Dai Roberts (Fiesta S2000) 36.03
5th (8) Daniel McKenna/Andrew Grennan (Escort) 36.14
6th (3) Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 36.19
7th (9) Manus Kelly/Donal Barrett (Escort) 36.55
8th (30) Declan & Brian Boyle (Escort) 37.18
9th (16) Damien Gallagher/Paul Garry (Escort) 37.28
10th (12) Camillus Bradley/Crawford Henderson (Escort) 37.32

Fastest through stage 4 Woodstock, a repeat of stage 1, was Melvyn Evans in his Impreza S12B. Melvyn covered the 16.15km of that tight twisty gravelly stage in 9m32s. On the first visit to the stage the Welshman was also fastest and his time then was 9m39s. Second fastest was Triton Showers supremo Kevin Barrett and he was down 8s with Daniel McKenna a remarkable 3rd fastest in his Mk2 Escort. Aaron MacHale was a further 2s in arrears from McKenna with Craig Breen another 2s back.

The special HASS Border Championship award for fastest class 14 time has been won by Daniel McKenna. That is providing of course he finishes the rally.

Sean Flanagan/Brian Miller continue to lead the “conventional” Group N category in their Impreza N12. Sean is lying 11th o/a and Trevor & Kenny Bustard are in 15th and 2nd in the conventional GpN. Craig Breen is of course the overall leader of Group N in his new Fiesta S2000.

Further retirements include Rory Byrne/Jeremy Patterson whose Lancer stopped in the 2nd stage with a broken differential. Mark Courtney/Mick Courtney are out of the rally, their Celica having slid into a drain. Gary McElhinney/Damien Connolly have also retired their Subaru Legacy which throws open the special Group A award of €1000 from Gerry Ronan Transport.

Early news from stage 5 is that Kevin Barrett and Craig Breen tied for fastest with Niall Maguire 2s down and Melvyn Evans 4s off the fastest and Aaron MacHale 5s down on fastest.

Some class positions after stage 4 include: Stephen Bradley/Jonathan Gallagher in their Civic lead cl.2: Ian Hynes/Martin Collins lead cl.3: Eamonn McCafferty/Kenneth McHale in their Puma lead cl.5: Stephen Baxter/Karl Atkinson in their Fiesta R2 are 16s up on David Leonard/Adrian Foley in their Saxo in cl.6: Mark Donnelly/Paddy Robinson are 3rd in that class n their Citroen C2R2. Lloyd Hutchinson/Kevin Flanagan lead cl.9 in their startling Austin Mini Cooper.

More news later: BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net
(With thanks to Dougie Hughes who is celebrating his 77th birthday this weekend. We wish him many more birthdays!) Dougie would like to pass on his thanks to Jackie Breen for providing him with a beautiful chocolate birthday cake in the service van.

2018 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd